NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it.

  • W.O.C. 2017

From November 8th. - 12th. 2017 in the Guayaquil Convention Center

Here some pictures made during the 4th Andean Orchid Conference 2012, giving you mpression, what to expect in 2017.

 In Order to get to the homepage of the 22nd World Orchid Conference please click on the logo on top, or here.

With more than 4.000 different orchid species, and all possible climatic zones in one country Ecuador might be the country with the biggest orchid diversity in the world.

Also the animal world is always worth a visit with your unique variety.

Ecuador is located in the north-west of South America, right on the equator, which also gave the country its name. To the west is the Pacific Ocean, to the north it borders Colombia, to the east and west Peru. With about 283.561 km² it is about as large as the Federal Republic of Germany, but is only inhabited by approximately 15,000,000 people.
The capital is Quito and is located at 2850m altitude, the largest city is the port city of Guayaquil. The Galapagos Islands are about 1000km off the west coast in the Pacific Ocean.


Alexander von Humboldt noted 200 years ago, the only constant in the geography of Ekuador is the diversity. In Ecuador, for example, all climate zones can be found.


The country is divided into 4 geographical zones:

The coastal area (Costa)

Costa is called the western coastal area. It is about 80,000 square kilometers, and houses about half of the population. The Costa consists of fertile swamp plains and wavy hilly landscapes, in the north-south direction about 500km long, and in the east-west direction about 200km wide. The largest river is the approximately 60km long Guayas, its tributaries are Babahyo and Daule. With 36,000km2 they form the largest water catchment system on the American Pacific coast.

The coastal mountains consist of the Cordillera Costanera, which flows into the Cordillera Chongon-Colonche in Guayas.

The coastal area is climatically divided into 2 different areas: the tropical-humid north and the semiarid south. The cause can be found in the Humboldt stream, which changes its direction westward into the Pacific shortly before the equator.

The Andean Region (Sierra)

The mountainous region is called Sierra is over 80,000km2. Today, about 40% of the population live in it. The Sierra is divided into the Cordillera Occidental and the Cordillera Central. The intermediate valley is called Altiplano.
Although the Cordillera Occidental is on average lower, here is the highest mountain of Ecuador, the Chimborazo (6310m). The highest mountain of the Cordillera Cenentral is the Cotopaxi (5900m).
In both Cordillera there are still numerous active volcanoes.
Between both mountain ranges lies a huge valley in about 2000-3200m height. It is about 500km long and 30km wide. The numerous villages are mostly named after the rivers.

The Amazon lowland (Oriente)

To the east, directly adjacent to the eastern slopes of the Andes, are the rainforests of the Amazon Basin. The 100,000 km2 basin is only sparsely populated and largely unexplored and difficult to access.
It is crossed by numerous rivers, all of which flow into the Amazon. The climate is tropical warm and humid.

The Galapagos Islands

Approx. 1000km west of the coast is the unique area of ​​the Galapagos Islands. They are geographically very young and of volcanic origin. As a result, they never had contact with the mainland and harbor a unique flora and fauna. The islands are spread over 320km and about 8000km2, the main island is called Isabela and is about 4000km2. The highest peak on the Galapagos Islands is the volcanic wolf (1700m).

Ecuador is still a country where tradition meets modernity. Surprises can be found on every trip.